Oats & Coffee

So I thought my first proper post should be in the Food & Recipe section. That’s very convenient as I’ve just had my breakkie, and will now tell you all about it.

It it so important, for all sorts of reasons. It gets your body and metabolism going, It will help you stay focused for school and work throughout the day. Also it gives me that kick to eat healthy the rest of the day, if you start the day good it’s so much easier to keep it up. So never skip Breakfast (BF), even if you only have a fruit, some nuts or a smoothie on the go.

Well, you will need some refill, which lead me to one of my tips, if you can call it that. I always have a little healthy snack, mostly berry & fruity smoothies, between BF and lunch. Some days though I just don’t feel like a big breakfast, so I would just switch over. I will have a smoothie/snack for  BF, and at snacktime I would eat my BF ( I will eventually get to what this normally contains) . Another bonus with this, for me at least, is: If I eat a big BF I become Very Hungry Very Quickly and feel I need to eat a rather short time after. So if I just had a smoothie for BF, or anything else small, when snacktime comes, and I feel I could eat a horse, I have a full BF to eat. This really fills me up and makes me all nice and happy all the way to lunch.

So, what I do have for BF , WOW, finally you must think. I do vary alot, but what I always come back to is porridge made on oats and blueberries. In this lovely porridge I add cinnamon and nutmeg, and then some natural yoghurt. Tip from Tone It Up, which is something I will get back to you on.  The recipe was to have the yoghurt on the side, but I find that to be quite messy eating from two bowls, so I scooped it in with the oats , mixed it, and it turned ut absolutely lovely, and purple 🙂

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • Water
  • Some nutmeg 
  • Some more cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup natural yoghurt

So there you have it, my first meal of the day, healthy and nutritious. I must add that this will always be with a coffee on the side.

For nutrition facts look here.

6 responses to “Oats & Coffee

  1. Mixing nutmeg and cinnamon ? Weird, but I’ll have to try it !

  2. Porridge! You know I like that 🙂 Ane others porridge or other smart breakfast-ideas are welcome from my side! I’m now subscribing on your blog!

  3. Oh thank you Eilen. I will have you in mind when I post other porridge recipes 🙂 Thank you for subscribing 🙂

  4. I am having another version of this a lot too lately. I always mix up non-fat yogurt, 1/2 banana, berries, oats and either agave or maple sirup. It does keep me filled up and is the best start into a new day!

    You are right BF is sooooooo important. I used to be a non BF either. Since my thyroid got diagnosed with not working to well and I am taking pills every morning I have to eat BF. It changes so much! 🙂

  5. Your version sounds delish, I will try that next time. Thanx Franzi x

Leave a comment

