Barefoot Running

I will be testing out Barefoot Running, I have really been looking forward to trying my new shoes with five separate little compartments for each toe. Yesterday I tried it for the first time, this was a very freeing and fun experience. A big Thank You to my brother for giving me the shoes. ❤

For those of you that don’t know what barefoot running is, it is in basic running with no cushioning. That means no running shoes that would dampen the impact of running. On the other hand you do need to alter  your running technique to avoid injury. No, not like Phoebe . But it is very individual to how a body react to this type of running, so if you’re trying it out, listen to your body and read up on how to start-up and progress. Some people literally run BAREfoot, this is not what I will be doing, I will be using Vibram FiveFingers. They have a protective surface to keep my delicate feet safe. The Bikila is created exclusively for a more natural running experience. The grounded feeling is really good, very natural, and I am very happy with them.

As stated before I have no formal education in this matter, so what I write about here is only my personal experience, and it’s suited for me and the condition I’m in.
When you starting up barefoot running you have to start very easily, and then gradually build up the time and speed. So what I do is warm up and do a normal run in my normal running shoes. I will bring along the Vibrams and have a 5 minute run in them at the end. The fist weeks i will only run with them for about 5 minutes – each time, obviously. 🙂

There will be more posts on this topic later on. I want to know more about this type of running before I write about it. I wouldn’t want to give out wrong information. If you have any questions please leave a comment below or email me.
Norwegian:
English:
6 responses to “Barefoot Running

  1. hhaha cool 😀 I wish i have pair of these!
    can’t wait for your next post 😉

    fitandbeautifulme.blogspot.com

  2. Hey girl! How are they feeling now after breaking them in?

  3. Hey Cat,
    The last few weeks Ive been training for a run, and because my calves got so sore from barefoot-running it stopped me from running for more days than i wanted. In other words i needed all the training i could get 🙂 Anyways, I decided to wait with the barefoot-running until i had finished my run. Which is, good news, in 2 days. So I will be back in the shoes with toes this weekend. Sorry about the wait, but I will make a new post in not too long.

    xxx

Leave a comment

