My first week in 2012

I have had a really good first week of 2012.

I’m starting with the fitness aspect of the week, this is what I have the most to write about. It started with an 8k run on Monday, on Monday that was the furthest I had ever run. And what an amazing feeling it was.

Lightweight running shoes. Asics Gel-DS trainer

The original plan was to start off with the 1/2 marathon schedule this week. But as I had a look at it, I realised that it was to basic for me. (It started off with 2min run and 1min walk.) And I though to self; if I can run 8K, I need a schedule that’s one step up from what I have. So as I am in a search for a new schedule, I have been pimping the one I have. That basically comes down to running longer distances than it says on the schedule.

My next workout I mentioned in my post about my new magical shoes. Technically they are not magical, but I am really pleased with them and they are a dream to run with. I went running with my brother in the forest, we ran about 4K before we encountered the very tough…*drum roll*…. Hill Intervals. Though I have had my share of interval training, I have never found myself in a hill at the same time. So this was new to me. In fear of repeating myself I will direct you to my shoe post for details. But I can say that hill intervals will be repeated this week. It was such a great workout. What I love about this, is that no matter how fit you are, you can ALWAYS challenge yourself. And racing ones brother to the top is also very much fun.

My next workout was a Saturday long run, I ran for 9K. That is the longest I have ever run.Β  *Pats self on back*Β  It was a great workout with rain and some hailstones, but I’m quite used to that now. I must say, I’m very happy with my runs this week. They have all been really good, and I have enjoyed all of them. When I came home I had a quick shower, made myself a protein smoothie, stretched and then snuggled up in the sofa with a blanket and a hot cup of tea.Picture of Hysteria movie. Hugh Dancy, Maggie Gyllenhaal

Saturday eve was spent with my friends. First on the agenda was a visit to a new restaurant. Here we had semi acceptable tapas. We then went to the movies to see ‘Hysteria’. In short; It’s a romantic comedy from the 1880’s (I think) when they invented the vibrator. I know, it sound cheesy, but I can assure you it is not. It is a very funny film, and well made.

The movie Hysteria with Hugs DancyThe movie Hysteria with Hugh Dancy, Jonathan Pryce.

My first lecture at uni is Monday 09th. Therefore I have spent this week getting all ready to start again after the holidays. I’ve made schedules and plans for my lectures where I have plotted in deadlines and exam days. I’ve made to-do lists I can fill in each day to make sure I keep up with my schedule. I very easily forget things if they’re not written down. On that note, I am in a search for a new planner for 2012. I want one that’s functional and nice looking. I’ m very picky.

That was my first week, how was yours?

2 responses to “My first week in 2012

  1. Cheers to 1/2 marathon πŸ™‚ Btw you can look up our names on the side. Also I love hill interval runs! Just no hills around here… darn need to find one!

    CONGRATS to running 9K sweety!!! That is amazing! I am so inspired I think I am going for a run right now two… hahaha!!!

    Let’s brainstorm on 1/2 plans soon πŸ™‚ & keep up the great work!!!

    • Hey Girl, Hope you had a great run. I’m so glad I inspire you, you inspire and motivate me too. πŸ™‚
      What site can we look out names up? I checked the event site but could not see anything.
      Skype this evening? πŸ™‚
      xxx

Leave a comment

